NaNoWriMo-a-Go-Go

November 1, 2009

Well it’s here again: NaNoWriMo – National November Writing Month – that one month perfectly positioned to interfere to the max with Christmas shopping and Thanksgiving cooking. That one month of literary madness optimally placed so those of us with seasonal-affective-disorder can capitalize on the profound lack of creativity and drive that the dark, depressing evenings of November brings… ah how I love it.

In spite of it’s cruel timing, I have to be serious and say that participation in NaNoWriMo is a must for any budding author, especially those prone to procrastination like myself. There is no better way to just force yourself to write. NaNo is about pushing ahead, regardless of quality. It’s about learning to finish the birthing process before attempting to back and clean the baby up. It’s an exercise in willpower, time management and good habits and, for those of us prone to self-editing, self-doubt, and inclined to over-research, it is absolutely invaluable.

If any of you are participating in NaNo this year, please feel free to add me to your buddy list. The more the merrier. Plus, I’m a competitive fiend and if your word count gets bigger than mine I will bust my balls to catch up with you…

Everybody wins.

Except for my poor balls.

You can find me here: http://www.nanowrimo.org/eng/user/154526

Hope to see you soon!

~CGW

3 Responses to “NaNoWriMo-a-Go-Go”

  1. JB Dryden said

    I’m rooting for you, Craig. You’re doing substantially better than I am already. I’m eager to keep up with your progress.

  2. Craig said

    Hey Boone,

    Have you considered that your word count being slightly lower than mine may only be indicative of the fact that I’m pushing out lower quality than you? You know, McDonald’s has over 1 billion served, but it ain’t as tasty as Applebee’s. :-)

  3. Justin said

    I think the Seasonal-Affective crap should actually help. Look at all the really famous classic writers. Pretty much every one of them was chronically depressed.

Leave a Reply

